A brief historic introduction

Following the Framework Guidelines o​​​​n Electricity System Operation, four network codes were initially developed:

  • Network Code on Operational Security

  • Network Code on Operational Planning and Scheduling

  • Network Code on Load-frequency Control and Reserves

  • Network Code on Emergency and Restoration

During the adoption process led by the European Commission, the Network Codes on Operational Security, Operational Planning and Scheduling and Load-frequency Control and Reserves were merged into the Guideline on Electricity Transmission System Operation.​