Formerly active region: North West Region

acer image

The North West (NW) region has been inactive since 2014. Cooperation continues on a bilateral or multilateral basis, outside the setting of the GRI.

The region was formed by the following countries:


  • Belgium

  • Denmark

  • France

  • Germany

  • Ireland

  • Luxemburg

  • Netherlands

  • Sweden

  • United Kingdom

  • Norway (observer, non-EU country)


The region produces, and consumes, the highest amount of gas in Europe. The region also hosts the most developed gas markets and hubs in the EU.